LINUXMAKER, OpenSource, Tutorials

The Dig HowTo

How is dig used to query DNS name servers?

Just as the nslookup command, dig(domain information groper) on Linux, Unix macOS, and Windows is a command that queries information from DNS servers. DNS means "Domain Name Service" and is used to convert IP addresses into domains or vice versa. dig is the more modern alternative to nslookup. It dispenses with the interactive operating mode of nslookup. And it provides more comprehensive query capabilities for virtually all candidate DNS information. Dig is part of the open source distribution BIND v9.x of the ISC (BIND-tools).
Since dig is now part of all Linux distributions, you no longer need to compile dig yourself. For example, dig is already packaged in the following Linux distributions: dnsutils (Debian), bind-utils (Red Hat, Fedora), and bind-tools (Gentoo).
How to configure a BIND name server is described here.

What the standard Dig output tells us

The simplest query is for a single host. By default, dig is already quite talkative. In all likelihood, not all information is needed in the standard output. Since it makes sense to know about their meaningfulness, here follows a documented query.

dig www.isc.org

This command line call from dig retrieves information about the host at isc.org.

<<>> DiG 9.11.2-5-Debian <<>> www.isc.org
;; global options: +cmd

The opening section of the dig output says something about the version used (9.11.2) and the global options that are set (in this case +cmd). This part of the output can be suppressed with the option +nocmd, so in this way:

dig +nocmd www.gmail.org

;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 62145
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 1

At this point, dig provides some technical details about the DNS server's response. This section of the output can be switched on or off with the option +[no]comments. Disabling comments will also disable many section headings!

dig +nocomments www.isc.org
dig +comments  www.isc.org
;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 4096
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.isc.org .                 IN      A

In the Question sector dig reminds us of our request. The standard query refers to an Internet address (A). This can also be switched on or off with the option +[no]question.

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.isc.org.            60      IN      A       149.20.64.69
;; Query time: 48 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.0.1#53(192.168.0.1)
;; WHEN: Sun Jan 21 10:44:44 CET 2018
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 56

The answer then provides the answer sector. The IP address of www.isc.org is 149.20.64.69. Again, this section of the output can be turned off with the +[no]answer option, although it makes no sense, as that is the key piece of information.

 ;; AUTHORITY SECTION: isc.org. 2351 IN NS ns-int.isc.org. isc.org. 2351 IN NS ns1.gnac.com. isc.org. 2351 IN NS ns-ext.isc.org.

The "Authority" section provides information about which DNS servers can provide an authoritative response to our request. In this case, isc.org has three name servers. This section can also be deactivated or activated with the option +[no]authority.

 ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION: ns1.gnac.com. 171551 IN A 209.182.216.75 ns-int.isc.org. 2351 IN A 204.152.184.65 ns-int.isc.org. 2351 IN AAAA 2001:4f8:0:2::15

The additional section usually contains the IP addresses of the DNS servers listed in the Authority section. This section of the output can be activated/deactivated with the option +[no]additional.

 ;;  Abfragezeit: 2046 ms
 ;;  SERVER: 127.0.0.1 # 53 (127.0.0.1)
 ;;  WANN: Fr 27. August 08.22.26 2004
 ;;  MSG-Größe rcvd: 173

This final section of the output contains some statistics about the query. It can also be disabled or enabled with the +[no]stats option.

LINUXMAKER, OpenSource, Tutorials

Das Dig HowTo

Wie wird dig benutzt, um DNS-Nameserver abzufragen?

Genauso wie der Befehl nslookup ist dig(domain information groper) unter Linux, Unix macOS und Windows ein Befehl, mit dem Informationen von DNS-Servern abgefragt werden können. Dabei bedeutet DNS „Domain Name Service“ und wird zur Umwandlung von IP-Adressen in Domains respektive umgekehrt verwendet. dig ist die modernere Alternative zu nslookup. Es verzichtet auf den interaktiven Betriebsmodus von nslookup. Und es bietet umfassendere Abfragemöglichkeiten für praktisch alle in Frage kommenden DNS-Informationen. Dig ist ein Bestandteil der OpenSource-Distribution BIND v9.x des ISC (BIND-tools).
Da dig mittlerweile Bestandteil sämtlicher Linux-Distributionen ist, braucht man dig nicht mehr selber kompilieren. So ist dig bei folgenden Linux-Distributionen bereits wie folgt paketiert, dnsutils (Debian), bind-utils (Red Hat, Fedora) und bind-tools (Gentoo).
Wie ein BIND-Nameserver konfiguriert wird, ist an dieser Stelle beschrieben.

Was die Dig-Standardausgabe uns mitteilt

Die allereinfachste Abfrage ist die für einen einzelnen Host. Via Standard zeigt sich dig bereits ziemlich gesprächig. Aller Wahrscheinlichkeit nach werden nicht alle Informationen in der Standardausgabe benötigt. Da es sinnvoll ist, über deren Aussagewert Bescheid zu wissen, folgt hier eine dokumentierte Abfrage.

dig www.isc.org

Mit diesem Kommandozeilenaufruf von dig werden Informationen über den Host bei isc.org abgerufen.

<<>> DiG 9.11.2-5-Debian <<>> www.isc.org
;; global options: +cmd

Der öffnende Abschnitt der dig-Ausgabe sagt etwas über über dier eingesetzte Version (9.11.2) und die globalen Optionen, die gesetzt sind (in diesem Fall +cmd ), aus. Dieser Teil der Ausgabe kann mit der Option +nocmd unterdrückt werden, also auf diese Weise:

dig +nocmd www.gmail.org

;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 62145
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 1

An dieser Stelle liefert dig einige technische Details zur Antwort des DNS-Servers. Dieser Abschnitt der Ausgabe kann mit der Option +[no]comments ein- oder abschaltet werden. Das Deaktivieren der Kommentare wird allerdings auch viele Abschnittsüberschriften deaktivieren!

dig +nocomments www.isc.org
dig +comments  www.isc.org
;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 4096
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.isc.org .                 IN      A

Im Question-Sektor erinnert uns dig an unsere Anfrage. Dabei bezieht sich die Standardabfrage auf eine Internetadresse ( A ). Das lässt sich ebenfalls mit der Option +[no]question ein- oder ausschalten.

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.isc.org.            60      IN      A       149.20.64.69
;; Query time: 48 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.0.1#53(192.168.0.1)
;; WHEN: Sun Jan 21 10:44:44 CET 2018
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 56

Die Antwort liefert dann der Antwort-Sektor. Die IP- Adresse von www.isc.org lautet 149.20.64.69. Auch diesen Abschnitt der Ausgabe kann man mit der Option +[no]answer deaktivieren, obwohl es keinen Sinn macht, da gerade das die ausschlaggebende Information ist.

 ;; AUTHORITY SECTION: isc.org. 2351 IN NS ns-int.isc.org. isc.org. 2351 IN NS ns1.gnac.com. isc.org. 2351 IN NS ns-ext.isc.org.

Im Abschnitt "Authority" wird die Information geliefert, welche DNS-Server eine autoritative Antwort auf unsere Anfrage geben können. In diesem Fall hat isc.org drei Nameserver. Diesen Abschnitt kann man mit der Option +[no]authority ebenfalls deaktivieren respektive aktivieren.

 ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION: ns1.gnac.com. 171551 IN A 209.182.216.75 ns-int.isc.org. 2351 IN A 204.152.184.65 ns-int.isc.org. 2351 IN AAAA 2001:4f8:0:2::15

Der zusätzliche Abschnitt enthält normalerweise die IP-Adressen der DNS-Server, die im Abschnitt "Authority" aufgeführt sind. Dieser Abschnitt der Ausgabe kann mit der Option +[no]additional de-/aktiviert werden.

 ;;  Abfragezeit: 2046 ms
 ;;  SERVER: 127.0.0.1 # 53 (127.0.0.1)
 ;;  WANN: Fr 27. August 08.22.26 2004
 ;;  MSG-Größe rcvd: 173

Dieser letzte Abschnitt der Ausgabe enthält einige Statistiken über die Abfrage. Es kann ebenfalls mit der Option +[no]stats deaktiviert oder aktiviert werden.